Library Banner - Kids

If you like pirate books...

Try these

Picture Books

  • Blackbeard's Last Fight Kimmel, Eric
  • Ballad of the Pirate Queens, The Yolen, Jane
  • Captain Flinn and the Pirate Dinosaurs Andreae, Giles
  • Do Pirates Take Baths? Tucker, Kathy
  • Don't Mention Pirates McConnell, Sarah
  • Edward and the Pirates McPhail, David
  • Erie Canal Pirates, The Kimmel, Eric
  • Everything I Know About Pirates Lichtenheld, Tom
  • Fluffy, Scourge of the Sea Bateman, T
  • How I Became a Pirate Long, Melinda
  • The Night Pirates Harris, Peter
  • Lo-Jack and the Pirates Hooks, William
  • Olive's Pirate Party Baker, Roberta
  • Pirates Don't Change Diapers Long, Melinda
  • Pirate Girl Funke, Cornelia
  • Pirate Meets the Queen, The Faulkner, Matt
  • Pirate Pete Kennedy, Kim
  • Pirate Pete's Giant Adventure Kennedy, Kim
  • Pirate Treasure Krupinski, Loretta
  • Robin Hook, Pirate hunter! Kimmel , Eric
  • Roger, the Jolly Pirate Helquist, Brett
  • Shiver Me Letters: A Pirate ABC Sobol, June
  • This Little Pirate Sturges, Philemon
  • Tough Boris Fox, Mem

Easy Books

  • Captain and Matey Set Sail Laurence, Daniel
  • Let the Good Times Roll With Pirate Pete and Pirate Joe Cannon, A.E.
  • On the Go With Pirate Pete and Pirate Joe Cannon, A.E.
  • Pirate Mom Underwood, Deborah
  • Pirate School Dubowski, Cathy East
  • Richard Scarry's Pie Rats Ahoy! Scarry, Richard

Early Chapter Books

  • Eoin Colfer's Legend of Captain Crow's Teeth Colfer, Eoin
  • Mystery of the Pirate Ghost, The Hayes, Geoffrey
  • Not-So-Jolly Roger, The Scieszka, Jon
  • Pirates Don't Wear Pink Sunglasses Dadey, Debbie
  • Pirates Past Noon Osborne, Mary Pope
  • Pirates of the Purple Dawn Abbott, Tony
  • Scooby-Doo! and the Sunken Ship Gelsey, James

Chapter Books

  • How To Be A Pirate Cowell, Cressida
  • Jack Black & the Ship of Thieves Hughes, Carol
  • Jack Jones and the Pirate Curse Rossell, Judith
  • Man with the Silver Oar, The Moore, Robin
  • Mystery of the Pirate's Map. The Warner, Gertrude
  • Mystery on Skull Island Jones, Elizabeth McDavid
  • Peter & the Starcatchers Barry, Dave
  • Peter and the Shadow Thieves Barry, Dave
  • Peter Pan In Scarlet McCaughrean, Geraldine
  • The Stowaway : a Tale of California Pirates Gregory, Kristiana
  • Treasure Island: A Story of the Spanish Main Stevenson, Robert Louis

Nonfiction

  • Anne Bonny and Mary Read : Fearsome Female Pirates of the 18th Century Weintraub, Aileen
  • The Barbarossa Brothers : Sixteenth Century Pirates of the Barbary Coast Weintraub, Aileen
  • Barefoot Book of Pirates Walker, Richard
  • Blackbeard, the Pirate King : several yarns detailing the legends, myths, and real-life adventures of history's most notorious seaman: told in verse Lewis, Patrick J.
  • Book of Pirates Hague, Michael
  • Buccaneers and Pirates of Our Coasts Stockton, Frank Richard
  • Henry Morgan: Seventeenth-Century Buccaneer Weintraub, Aileen
  • How to Be a Pirate Malam, John
  • Jean Lafitte: Pirate-hero of the war of 1812 Weintraub, Aileen
  • Pirate Lock, Deborah
  • Pirate Platt, Richard
  • Pirates Netzley, Patricia D.
  • Pirates Osborne, Will
  • The Best Book of Pirates Harward, Barnaby
  • The History of Pirates: from privateers to outlaws Lassieur, Allison
  • The Pirate Code: Life of a Pirate O’Donnell, Liam
  • The Story of the Barbary Pirates Stein, Conrad
  • What If You Met a Pirate? Adkins, Jan
  • Where is the Pirate's Treasure? Follow the clues to unravel the mystery Heath, Rupert
  • You Wouldn't Want to be a Pirate's Prisoner! Horrible things you'd rather not know Malam, John

Please ask the library staff for assistance in finding these and other titles.